Gifted

When I was a child, “gifted” was a bad word to my mother. I was labeled as “gifted,” but she refused to let me take gifted classes. After a year of repeatedly telling her how much more advanced I was, my mother relented and let me take gifted English/Writing. I have very few memories of second grade, but I remember that class and how much I loved it. I wish my mother had allowed me to take other classes as well. I promised myself that when I had children, I would never stop them from reaching their full potential through gifted courses. Now, as a parent, I just want my child to mainstream and have a fulfilling life.

Little Bear is 2/3 of the way through his probation period and has had exactly one biting incident – and it was in retaliation to another child scratching his face to take a toy, so we forgave it. He was also bitten pretty badly by another child in the classroom, but the teacher didn’t notice, so we have no idea what happened there. A sigh of relief is being breathed all over our household. We hope that he can stay in school because he needs it.

screen-shot-2016-12-19-at-1-30-44-pmLittle Bear’s communication is progressing rapidly. He’s learning lots of new words and starting to use signs consistently for words he’s unable to say clearly yet. He’s learned a lot of new words from the youtube station “BabyRadio” and makes the noises for the animals whose names he can’t say. He’s using the signs for more, bye bye, hello, again, and all done consistently and he’s constantly throwing in new signs that I have to ask friends who are hard of hearing to interpret for me.

Watching him grow and mature makes me thrilled beyond belief, but I still mourn the fact that he isn’t where other children his age are. While other moms compare how advanced their children are, I continue to be proud that today he followed most of the directions I gave him, even though he didn’t answer any of the questions I asked him.

I wish my life followed this e-mail that I received from Baby Center. I would love to be concerned about what area he’s “gifted” in, but instead I’m celebrating the fact that he clearly yelled for “Papi” on Sunday when my husband was the only one who hadn’t gotten out of bed yet. It was the first time he had clearly called for either of us multiple times, which brought Papi Bear close to tears. We realized that Little Bear does, in fact, know us as Mama and Papi, but he hadn’t realized that calling those words would bring us to him. I think he might be starting to understand the concept now, which is another milestone we’ve been waiting a very long time for.

Our child may or may not be gifted. We know he is a gift to us, without a doubt. Our life now is preparing our child to communicate effectively and make him smile with us. It’s piggyback rides and BabyRadio. It’s eating and stuffed animals. It’s realizing that the small things count and thinking maybe we’re lucky to get an extra year of baby phase with our boys. They grow up too quickly and we get to make it last a little longer.

Author: goldilocksbabybear

A mother dealing with the struggles of finding out her child is autistic.

Leave a Reply

