Reaching Targets

Today we went to Target with Grandma. You were crying and whining when I sat you in the cart. I thought you had anxiety. I put you on the ground and it turned out you just wanted to walk like your brother.

You were so good! You never went more than one aisle away. You ran down to the end, hid at the endcap and then looked around, laughing and giggling because mommy was far away. I said, “Little! Bye bye!” and you responded, “Bah-bah!” and blew me kisses. I started walking away and pitter patter pitter patter… you were chasing after me.

You and your brother wanted a ball. They were on clearance for $1.48. Grandma bought each of you one. You wanted a blue “bubble” just like your brother had. No way could mommy get you the white one instead. You wanted to be like your big brother – he’s your favorite person ever. Both of you ran ahead of us, chasing your oversized balls, laughing all the way to the checkout.

You made me feel much better about the day.

You were playing, you were using words, you were interacting with all of us, and you were responding to simple commands.

I’m very proud of you, Little Bear.

Author: goldilocksbabybear

A mother dealing with the struggles of finding out her child is autistic.

Leave a Reply

